Confessions of a BB’holic

It has been almost a year since I posted my write up, “What’s your pin?” on Dipti’s Desk (Refer to Original Blog Post – http://wp.me/p16Ayv-S). The article preached everyone on handling the severe addiction to blackberry. I was telling people to pay more attention to the world out there and less to the red light flashing on their phone. The only problem was, while I was writing that post I had paused to look at my BBM messages about a hundred times in between. I was the official undercover BB’holic unsuccessfully trying to convince the human race to give it up when I myself had no intention to. Yes I’ll admit there was no difference between me and Rebecca Bloomwood (Shopaholic fame) who gave people advice on how to effectively manage their financial problems but in reality had her credit card company painfully chasing after her to pay up her bills.

As soon as the post had gone up, I had started receiving the expected never-ending taunts from friends and family. “Oh, haha just read your blog, are you giving up your blackberry anytime soon?” “Oh good one, are you taking out time to spend with YOUR friends and family?” and my mom’s favorite one endlessly repeated, “You know you should always practice what you preach!” So I had had enough and decided to end my addiction (and of course prove them wrong). Almost a year and a million taunts too late perhaps but I finally did do it.

It was no doubt my best decision made. Three months later and cured of BB’holism, I was feeling more awesome than ever. I was more productive at work hence I was able to leave earlier than I used to. I wasn’t checking my bb constantly while driving hence I was able to avoid close call accidents (Quit judging! you know you have been there too). I now knew a red light flashing can only mean a sms or a missed call and if someone spends money to get in touch with you, you know it’s got to be important! Haha okay usually. Red light flashing no longer implied useless forwards or jokes or the casual hey what’s up BBM message from a friend you barely talk to who clearly just needed some time to kill at that moment. I was now able to give everything I did and everyone I knew my complete undivided attention and that fact itself made me feel superior.

The obvious problem with feeling superior is; everyone around you starts to appear mediocre. Many tribulations also start to arise; annoyance, when you are the only one at a friend’s birthday dinner party who has no one to talk to because everyone is looking down at their private parts and laughing (undoubtedly at their BB messages and nothing else I hope). Frustration, when you speak to someone or ask them a question at work and they just half heartedly agree with you or answer something completely off topic because they are actually preoccupied reading something else on their phone; clearly, you being present there, making conversation with them straight in the eye isn’t priority enough, there was another emergency to solve via the BBM at the very same time. Helplessness, because even though you had finally graduated to level II, your friends were left behind and no matter how much you screamed at the top of your lungs, shook them up and told them how super awesome you feel, no one really does care, they just nod at you and then go back to level I.

Unfortunately, there is only so much one can try and do to change the world and as they say, if you can’t join ‘em and you have already beaten ‘em then you have no other option left but to point & laugh at ‘em (or you could just ignore ‘em). All my threats from my best friends had finally stopped “You better reactivate your account or else dot dot dot”, “Dude! Enough already! Don’t be such a miser, just get your bb back” or “My BB misses yours (awww)”. Empty threats really, I know I won’t lose any friends just because I had given the BB up and if I did then they really can’t count much as friends can they? And like I have repeated endless times, those who care about you will get in touch with you no matter what, it’s not like I had gotten rid of other synonyms of attention craving social media such as my face book or twitter. I wasn’t unreachable; I just wasn’t addicted anymore.

So as I sat outside on my balcony relaxing on my one fine super awesome BB’less evening with my darling mother sipping a hot cup of tea and enjoying the light breeze on my face; I sighed blissfully and said to my mom “Don’t you just love life without all these useless addictions? Thank god I have given up my blackberry, all my friends are still so addicted and it is honestly such a pity”. My mother just let out a faint hmm… and said nothing. I looked away and after a few seconds she cleared her throat and replied, “Yes well, there are other things out there to keep you busy now.” For a split second I wondered what she meant, then I looked down at the angry birds app I was playing on my newly gifted IPAD 2 and realized.

Oh crap.

Leave a Reply

